Stories of BC Women in Trades

Julia Ballantyne, Refrigeration Mechanic

I got into the trades in 2012 starting with the discovery trades program at BCIT. At the end of that program I chose to go into refrigeration because it is a combination of a bunch of trades. Electrical, plumbing and refrigeration.

IJulia_Ballantyne am now a 3rd year apprentice in refrigeration and I work for display fixtures refrigeration doing commercial refrigeration and HVAC on grocery and retail stores.

I love my job because everyday is different, it’s challenging, and it’s satisfying. I have developed so much new knowledge and skills that are so useful for even everyday life.

I didn’t grow up thinking I would get into a trade, but I saw an opportunity to learn a skill and support myself.

I am also part of the women’s caucus of Build Together BC, Women of the BC Building trades. We are doing a campaign for BC Women in Trades that promotes, supports and mentors women in the skilled construction trades. We also push for respectful work places because everyone deserves the right to work in a respectful environment free from harassment and discrimination no matter what gender or race.

I want to see the passionate, skilled women who are looking to get into a trade to be able to have the supports they need to succeed in a career they love.

Julia

_____________________________

Learn more about BC Women in Trades Project.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Construction Industry, Labour Market

Leave a Reply

